Dream Reality

Dreams are illustrations from the book your soul is writing about you. — Marsha Norman

 I wanted to name my blog Dream Reality (but it was taken) because that reflects on the way I have lived my life, and best describes the purpose for which I am speaking to you here.  All my life I have been blessed by a vivid imagination, especially with regards to my future.  I have always been contemplative, and remember my favorite childhood moments as when I was up in a tree or under a bush, just being.  Most of my life I have been very disappointed, if not outright depressed, by my situation at present.  In contemplating how to better my life, I thought out various possible future scenarios.  This is what I call good dreaming, for there are many ways and types of dreams.   There are night dreams, fantasy dreams, dreams of lust and envy, and even self-destructive dreams.  What I am speaking to you about here are good, constructive dreams, which lead you to where you want to, or at least need to be.  I have come to believe that these dreams do not originate from our intellect, but from God.  OK, now that you’ve rolled your eyes, let me point out that everyone has their own beliefs on what and what not God is.  I personally do not believe in an anthropomorphic God (look it up.)  I could just as easily say Universe, or Great Spirit, but these are all semantics, and therefore will be misunderstood to some degree regardless.  I could go on about God and Semantics, and plan to on future entries, but for now I don’t want to digress.

What I want to say now is that, looking back on my life, I can see what a profound effect dreams have had on my life.  They are what made me who I am, and I am the result of following these dreams.  Along the way, spending my time contemplating reality and life, I have fallen into the camp of believing that Everything is a Dream.  If you’ve studied the least bit of quantum mechanics, then this point of view actually makes sense.  So I hope I can convince you to read my blog and through these words, consider the powerful effects of dreams on our lives, for we all dream, because that’s what this life is all about.  And if you are not satisfied with the way your life is going, I hope I can shed some little ray of light on how you can improve your own good dreaming.  May your personal dream come true.

Painting from a photo I took while visiting Real de Catorce, Mexico

About Art by Lowell

I am an artist who specializes in impressionist and cubist oil painting. I am also a musician who performs under the stage name of Luis Sabor, singing, playing acoustic guitar, and the percussion instrument Guiro. I currently call Victoria, Texas home and like to travel throughout Central America, where I meet wonderful people, hear wonderful music, and get ideas for a sustainable living project in the Sonoran Desert. View all posts by Art by Lowell

4 responses to “Dream Reality

Leave a Reply

