Where do Dreams come from?

            So if you’ve been following my last few posts, you should have a good idea of what I mean when I say that dreams come from God.  I like to think that before we are born, when we are experiencing Pure Consciousness with the One, we can see our entire life mapped out in front of us.  Maybe we design our lives to achieve a specific goal.  All the trials and tribulations (what is a tribulation, anyway?) are a part of a master plan to get us to certain places, meeting people we have to meet, learning things we need to know.  With this scenario, dreams are like prompts from a GPS—if you ignore them it will take you much longer to arrive at your destination. Or you could get lost.  This is just a cock-eyed idea of mine—ridiculous, right?  Still, I enjoy contemplating this, rather than the thought that it is all meaningless.

            My point is this:  if it is all meaningless, and we are just evolved animals wandering around, where do these dreams come from?  Why would we develop these ideas which reward us so handsomely if pursued?  Well, sometimes the reward is a painful lesson learned, but I still cherish every adventure I’ve embarked upon.  Doubtless, any psychoanalyst could give a perfectly rational explanation for the phenomenon.  Rational is good.  I think we should all live rationally on a day-by-day, instant-specific basis.  But that kind of living might just get you nowhere, and maybe give you a dose of depression.  Sometimes you have to contemplate your life as a whole, and find something fun to do with it.  This is where dreams come to the rescue.  They say, “ Now here’s an idea for you!”       I say go for it.

visit my website to see more paintings: artbylowell.com

About Art by Lowell

I am an artist who specializes in impressionist and cubist oil painting. I am also a musician who performs under the stage name of Luis Sabor, singing, playing acoustic guitar, and the percussion instrument Guiro. I currently call Victoria, Texas home and like to travel throughout Central America, where I meet wonderful people, hear wonderful music, and get ideas for a sustainable living project in the Sonoran Desert. View all posts by Art by Lowell

2 responses to “Where do Dreams come from?

Leave a Reply

