Art or Music, Choose NOW

one of the first paintings I ever made

            It was at the end of my fifth year of elementary school that I was forced to choose between Art and Music.  I remember standing at the bus-stop with Sam Saldivar and discussing it.  We could only have one elective, and we wanted both.  We ended up choosing Band, mostly because our friend Scott, a year older, was in Band.  My public school education never allowed me the opportunity to pursue both Art and Music seriously.  As a result, it wasn’t until I was 26 years old that I discovered a passion for painting.

            I was sharing a condo with a fellow who took his TV with him when he moved out.  For the first time in memory, I had no access to television, and I didn’t want to buy one.  As an alternative form of visual entertainment, I started oil painting.  My Mom had a set of brushes and paints from a class she’d taken years before.  I actually started out painting on watercolor paper instead of canvas!  With painting I’ve discovered how to achieve short-term dreams—I’ll get an idea, then I paint it, or try to.  I am completely self-taught.  My first idea was of an ocean seascape with a huge Sun in the sky.  I was just having fun, but I liked how it turned out.  Even though it was on watercolor paper, it has still survived to this day (mounted on foam-board.)  My second painting was a truly visionary idea.  I was admiring a black & white photo in the newspaper (remember those?) of a singer named Anneke.  Then I noticed how the image was composed of a dot matrix—black dots on white, white dots on black, and several fascinating connections resulting from the variable size of the dots.  I decided to translate the image (on paper again!) using blue for the black areas, and yellow for the white (except the lips had to be red.)  At the time, I was painting for fun, so I didn’t worry about how long it would take.  It took a long, long time.  But I enjoyed it immensely, long after a new roommate arrived with a TV.  I used a magnifying glass to count the dots and copy the shape of them.  Thus I developed what I later coined “Matrix Pointelism.”  It is terribly time-consuming, but it is a very meditative activity, which I find quite relaxing.  Years later, when I showed a professional artist my work, he advised me not to market this material with my other work.  Because it is so time-consuming, he was convinced I would go insane if the public demanded quantities of it.  That is why I invented my alias—Luis Sabor, to represent me as the eccentric creator of all matrix pointelist works.  Now Luis is the stage name I use for performing music.  Interesting how everything connects to everything else, hmm?

original available at artbylowell.com

About Art by Lowell

I am an artist who specializes in impressionist and cubist oil painting. I am also a musician who performs under the stage name of Luis Sabor, singing, playing acoustic guitar, and the percussion instrument Guiro. I currently call Victoria, Texas home and like to travel throughout Central America, where I meet wonderful people, hear wonderful music, and get ideas for a sustainable living project in the Sonoran Desert. View all posts by Art by Lowell

One response to “Art or Music, Choose NOW

Leave a Reply

