Entering the World of Music

          I said I would talk about my time working for Austin Records, so here you go.  First, I want to go back to when I dropped out of Biology, and therefore Pre-Med.  This was at the University of Texas at Austin, and I went to all the classes and studied, sort of.  I was flayling in the lab, but the turning point came when I looked at my mid-term, consisting of three or four essay questions, and I had no clue.  I shocked the professor by turning in a blank page after five minutes.

            So I’m sitting outside the Commons, enjoying the scenery, and wondering what will become of me, when up walks my friend Drew.  I complained that I couldn’t even major in Music because I wasn’t proficient enough at the baritone, which I didn’t want to play anyway (I wanted to learn Cello.)  “Why don’t you major in Radio-TV-Film?” suggested Drew, “Its so cool, there’s even an audio sequence for sound engineers.”  And that was the moment my life was given direction (the direction towards a cliff, a waterfall, and a wild ride, but never mind.)  I loved music, but I wasn’t a great musician, so becoming a sound engineer seemed to be just the ticket.

A Fun Funky Place to be

            I met Herschel, the owner of Austin Records, because his wife Judy was a waitress at Chuys, where I worked also (I’ll have to talk about Chuys another time, it was an awesome place to work.)  They had a big after-concert party for Stevie Ray Vaughan on the eve of a big European tour.  Everybody sat around and drank too many margaritas, then suddenly gathered around Stevie Ray for autographs.  Mine was illegible.  One girl asked him to write something personal, so he wrote “Greetings from Margaret.”  She asked what that meant and he replied “its personal.”  I heard that Stevie Ray left his car parked in front of Herschel and Judy’s house—six feet from the curb on a through street!  It was still in good shape when he returned from the tour six weeks later.                       Stevie Ray Vaughan “Lenny”  

Stevie Ray Vaughan

About Art by Lowell

I am an artist who specializes in impressionist and cubist oil painting. I am also a musician who performs under the stage name of Luis Sabor, singing, playing acoustic guitar, and the percussion instrument Guiro. I currently call Victoria, Texas home and like to travel throughout Central America, where I meet wonderful people, hear wonderful music, and get ideas for a sustainable living project in the Sonoran Desert. View all posts by Art by Lowell

One response to “Entering the World of Music

Leave a Reply

