Journey Through Latin America (Part 9)

This is the lagoon at the Selva Negra Coffee Plantation and ecotourist attraction.  The Selva Negra is located high in the mountains north of Matagalpa, Nicaragua.  To arrive here was interesting.  I left Leon at 6:30 AM, when the shuttle was full, and we were only about half an hour outside of Leon when we were confronted with a traffic blockage caused by protesters.  Apparently the community had made an agreement with an electric company who failed to hold up to their bargain.  We backed the microbus up to a shady area and waited some 3 hours until the strike-breaking police force, mostly women, came and freed the highway for traffic.  As we passed through the rock-laden roadway we could still smell tear gas.  In the two months I’ve been travelling in Central America this is the first incident remotely dangerous I’ve experienced, and I actually enjoyed myself the whole time chatting with two lovely pre-med students anxious to get home to Matagalpa for the weekend.

Matagalpa is a pretty town in the cool mountains, coffee country, although it is plenty warm when the sun is shining.  I saw nothing especially interesting to photograph, so the following photos are mostly of the Selva Negra.  The owner named the plantation after the Black Forest of his native Germany, and the architecture is suitably European, like the Chapel above.

Many of the plants are familiar, as they have been exported to the North and beyond for use as house and patio plants.  The wild versions tend to grow much larger than I have ever seen, however.  These elephant ears for example:

 

In the jungle, walking the observation trails, I heard birds more often than glimpsing them.  I saw a large rodent that looked like a little capybara, and smelled, heard, and then saw a small troop of spider monkeys, though they were too far away in the trees to get a good photo.  I also heard howler monkeys occasionally off in the distance.  Mostly I enjoyed the peaceful solitude of this magical nature preserve.  I ate a late breakfast on the grounds and enjoyed some delicious locally grown coffee.

The next day I took a short bus ride to Masaya, which is half way from Managua to Granada, known for its arts and crafts and cultural displays.  I arrived on Sunday, so I saw some native dancing going on to the beat of a marimba band.

 

I stayed in an incredibly cheap hotel for $4 a night, but I had a difficult time finding  a good place to have dinner.  In the morning , however, I had a wonderful pastry breakfast for under $2.  On the whole, Masaya had little to keep me there, so I took the short bus ride for 5o cents to Granada.  Here are some more pics from Masaya:

 

 

About Art by Lowell

I am an artist who specializes in impressionist and cubist oil painting. I am also a musician who performs under the stage name of Luis Sabor, singing, playing acoustic guitar, and the percussion instrument Guiro. I currently call Victoria, Texas home and like to travel throughout Central America, where I meet wonderful people, hear wonderful music, and get ideas for a sustainable living project in the Sonoran Desert. View all posts by Art by Lowell

Leave a Reply

